Yesterday our family got back from a night in Yosemite. I knew it was going to be beautiful, but it was way more than I was expecting. Our trip was definitely Hitch-style: stayed in a nice hotel, star-gazed on the hotel lawn as people watched, and drove (never hike!!) to our destinations. The highlights included:
1. Seeing the Wawona Hotel- It was built in the late 1800s and was soo pretty. Bailey and I found great amusement in the name 'Wawona,' as it sounds like 6 year old me struggling and failing to say my r's.
2. Discovering that my mom thought that fanny packs were still an acceptable piece of f ashion. She was blown away when we told her that that was not the case. Yikes.
3. Driving to Glacier Point- For all of you who know my driving skills, you can probably imagine how much I hated it. Windy streets, driving on the edge of a cliff, smoke from fires limiting my view. Fun fun. There was even a point where I screamed in the car. Needless to say, Bailey drove back. The view from the point was definitely worth it though. You could see Half Dome, waterfalls, and the Valley.
All in all, the trip was short but fun. Happy Fourth of July!!